Set the Captives Free

I was hanging out with my friends Aubri & Angela the other day. Angela & Aubri are in full-time school & Angela & I are going to France in a month, so none of us have money to spare. We won free donuts from Tim Horton’s & I heard that Starbucks was giving out free coffee, so we decided to have a date & end the evening by watching Tangled & eating nachos & snow peas. Epic.

Aubri & I get fired up about…well…pretty much everything. Over our free coffee & donuts, I realized that one thing that we have both become really passionate about is ending human trafficking (also known as “modern day slavery” or the “sex trade”).

I remember when I first heard about human trafficking. It was about a year ago & a good friend of mine was becoming more & more involved with this crisis spreading across the earth. I had heard the words “human trafficking” before & I knew about people who are forced into labour and/or paid horrible wages in third world countries, but I had never opened my heart & eyes to hear, see & feel this crisis for myself. My friend started telling me all these facts about human trafficking, specifically with the sex trade, & my heart was blown wide open.

There are more than 30 million slaves in the world today. Women & children make up about 88% of those victims.

Those are startling statistics.

I could write for hours about human trafficking. I could talk about it for days, but I really feel like every single person on this planet is responsible for ending this crisis. We all have a part to play. While I may never go to India or Thailand & bust open doors of brothels & rescue women & children, I can raise awareness where I am today. I can plan events to raise money. I can pray. I can speak for the those who are voiceless.

I can fight & I can kick & I can scream.

For more information on human trafficking & modern day slavery, please visit the links below. Take 5 minutes out of your life to learn about what is happening around the world & in your own country. Ignorance does nothing. If you have any ideas or suggestions or events that you would like to plan, let me know & I would love to help you out! While I’m not an expert on human trafficking & I’ve only started this journey, I am so on board with helping wherever I can. Slavery was abolished once. It can be done again!

Check out these organizations who are working to end human trafficking in our lifetime:

Not For Sale
Exodus Cry (they have a great blog that I read all the time)
International Justice Mission
Hope for the Sold
End Modern Day Slavery (human trafficking specifically in Canada)
iempathize (this is a great site because it offers a personality test to help you discover how you are best suited to end modern day slavery)

About Michaela

Hello! My name is Michaela and welcome to my piece of cyberspace. I am a passionate care aid/respite worker primarily for seniors. I love my work and I find it quite fulfilling. I am also very interested in holistic approaches to health and wellness. When I'm not working or blogging, I'm usually reading, researching, spending time with my boyfriend and friends, hiking, or cuddling with my dogs.
This entry was posted in Social Justice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

