Growing Up

Lately, I have been acutely aware of the fact that I am growing up. (I know, earth-shattering discovery, right?) But sometimes the days, months & years just get away from us. We lose grip on the fact that time is passing. And I’ve had to slow down lately & realize that I am taking really big steps in my life.

I’m going to France in a month with my best-friend & I am going to real school in the Fall. Along with that, I applied for my first credit card & it came in the mail today. Ho-boy! Big responsibility right there, but I am ready for the challenge.

Partnered with these tangible life steps, I have also been growing in character & wisdom. I’ve been learning more & more about how to be a grown-up, godly woman. My friend, Aubri, has been teaching me a lot about that lately. (I don’t know if she’s realized that or not, but now she knows.) Aubri has been teaching me how to be a fiesty, courageous woman that doesn’t compromise & that speaks the truth, in love, always. I’ve learned a lot about being a strong & courageous woman through her & those lessons have been invaluable.

It’s hard to be bold & filled with love in a society that either tells women to stay silent & weak or to be overly aggressive, masculine & to “wear the pants” in our relationships. It’s hard to find the balance of being feminine & fragile, while also being powerful & fearless. While I have not finished this lesson in “feminity 101”, I have been enjoying the journey thus far.


The above picture is of my oldest brother, Matt & I about 18 years ago. Time flies & I am not a little girl anymore. I have been becoming more like the woman that God has created me to be. I’m excited that I get to live & be how God had planned from the day he formed me in my mom’s womb.

There is a high calling on the daughters of God & that calling has been speaking to me lately. We are called to be prayer warriors, to speak for the voiceless, to fight for the powerless. We are called to comfort those who mourn & take care of those who are hurting. We are called to be filled with grace, love & mercy & to shine the glory of Jesus into the darkest places of this world.

For me, silence is no longer an option. Fear has no place in my life. Cowardice will soon be a distant memory. I want to be the princess that God has called me to be. I want people to look at me & see Christ in me. I want to be tenacious, courageous & fearless like my sisters before me.

The following verse has been ringing through my head over & over again. It’s a command that God gave to Joshua when he replaced Moses after he died. It’s an encouragement that God repeated five times in one chapter. I think he was trying to drive home a point…

“Have I not commmanded you? Be strong & courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go” (Joshua 1:9).

Timid women don’t change history.

♥ Michaela

About Michaela

Hello! My name is Michaela and welcome to my piece of cyberspace. I am a passionate care aid/respite worker primarily for seniors. I love my work and I find it quite fulfilling. I am also very interested in holistic approaches to health and wellness. When I'm not working or blogging, I'm usually reading, researching, spending time with my boyfriend and friends, hiking, or cuddling with my dogs.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends, God & Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

