Hannah

I love people, which makes sense. As a portrait photographer, your job is people and the visual arts. Without people, I would have no job, no art. I am dependant on the beautiful people that enter my life. And that dependance is surprisingly liberating. Why? Because I feel so blessed to work with incredible people day in and day out.

One prime example is Hannah. Hannah is graduating from highschool and she heard about my photography through a mutual friend. She sent me a message over facebook and boom! We booked a session. Since Hannah contacted me, I had been very excited to do a shoot her. We decided to go to White Rock and, even though it was raining the whole week, the sun decided to make a glorious appearance.

Spending an hour and a half with Hannah was very inspiring. One thing that really struck me was that Hannah chose to do a shoot with me despite her insecurities and inhibitions. Like every girl on the face of the planet, she has felt insecure about her appearance and has felt extremely camera-shy. Hannah really wanted some great photos of herself before grad and because she got her braces off (woohoo!), so she decided to jump feet first into a shoot with me. Not only did she stand in front of my camera as I took pictures of her for an hour, she let go. She made silly faces, suggested poses, twirled, laughed, threw her hands up in the air and showed me a glimpse of the real Hannah.

Man, it was so inspiring to watch Hannah shine in front of me! I had just met her, but I felt like I was allowed to see how lovely and fun she is. I did not see this camera-shy girl that she had warned me about beforehand. I feel so blessed to have met this beautiful girl.

Hannah, thanks for giving me inspiration and a great reminder to be true to who I am whether I am in front or behind the camera and when there is no camera around at all! Let’s get some coffee together sometime!

~ Michaela

For more photos, check out my facebook page!

About Michaela

Hello! My name is Michaela and welcome to my piece of cyberspace. I am a passionate care aid/respite worker primarily for seniors. I love my work and I find it quite fulfilling. I am also very interested in holistic approaches to health and wellness. When I'm not working or blogging, I'm usually reading, researching, spending time with my boyfriend and friends, hiking, or cuddling with my dogs.
This entry was posted in Individual Portraits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

