Mondays & Inspiration

Ah, Mondays. I am part of the general population that dislikes Mondays greatly. It’s the end of the weekend, the beginning of the work week. You have to get up early and leave relaxation behind. Fortunately for me, my Mondays are now Tuesdays, meaning I now have Mondays off for awhile. Woohoo! And so, I am going to to tell you about my wonderful Monday that I feel so blessed to have experienced.

I slept in till 10am. (Oh, yes.) I woke up, showered, did some laundry, played with my Golden Lab and checked my email, which is pretty standard stuff. I then decided that I wanted to get out off the house for a bit. It’s frigid outside, so I got bundled up in my awesome jacket, yellow scarf and slouchy toque. I stuck my headphones in my ears and put on Bensé and Carla Bruni on my ipod and headed out the door. I live at the bottom of a seemingly giant and intimidating hill, so I decided to bus up it instead of walking. I then got some delicious coffee at the Wired Monk and, with a grande white chocolate mocha in hand, I walked to Shoppers Drug Mart and set my mind on getting some lipstick.

I’ve always wanted to be one of those girls that wears beautiful lipstick. I love the look of it, but I’ve never had the courage to try it out. So I walked up to the cosmetics lady and asked her to help me find the perfect shade. After an hour, I decided to get the one below. I love it and I can wear it during the day and if I go out at night.

Moisture Renew Lipstick by Rimmel London. #440 - Plumful.

After buying the lipstick, hand salve by Burt’s Bees and a copy Vogue, I headed off down the giant hill back home. I am blessed to live by very cool shops, one of which is House of Delovely. I LOVE this store so much! It has the cutest stuff! Some things are vintage or indie, while others are modern and trendy. It’s a perfect store to buy cute accessories, wedding gifts, decorations for your home or baby items. It is my new obsession. So I decided to spend some time in there and buy these awesome items below.

After spending a half hour there, I headed home, cracked open my Bible and spent time with God. I also spent some time catching up on blogs that I love reading. Today, I read Sarah Rhoads Photography blog and I felt so inspired. I felt so encouraged to be a person that lives in the moment and is not obsessed with themselves, but rather spends their time giving and sharing life with others.

At the end of her blog post, Sarah makes a confession. She says, “Hi, my name is Sarah & I am a workaholic. But I’m working on that for the sake of living a better life, and hopefully along the way I can create a legacy in the name of love… One that is rich in experience, compassion, love, serving others, real encounters with people, and creating something beautiful.”

While I wouldn’t say that I’m a workaholic, I am a selfaholic. I must confess that I spending a lot of time indulging in myself and forgetting other people. And I hope that the more time I spend with God and the people I love, that will change.

It’s been such a perfect day and I feel so blessed to have been able to start off my week with such awesomeness. Cheers to enjoying Mondays more, even if you have to work! Tip for the Monday-haters: pretty lips and French music helps greatly in enjoying every day, even Monday. :)

P.S. I took some photos of my lovely friend, Aubri, about a week ago. The photos are on my facebook page. I’d post them here, but my internet is being ridonkulously slow.

About Michaela

Hello! My name is Michaela and welcome to my piece of cyberspace. I am a passionate care aid/respite worker primarily for seniors. I love my work and I find it quite fulfilling. I am also very interested in holistic approaches to health and wellness. When I'm not working or blogging, I'm usually reading, researching, spending time with my boyfriend and friends, hiking, or cuddling with my dogs.
This entry was posted in Individual Portraits, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Mondays & Inspiration

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Mondays & Inspiration | Michaela Putra Photography -- Topsy.com

Leave a comment