Life Unexpected

Life is unexpected. Today was a prime example of that.

I started my day pretty much like any other. I woke up at 12:30pm because I have been dreadfully sick, but everything else was normal. I showered, checked facebook, got caught up on several video-bloggers that I follow on youtube, made grilled cheese for my late, late lunch and then got ready for work. Everything was fairly typical, but then life surprised me.

On the way to work, I got in a car accident. Actually, I was right outside my work when the car accident happened. Seriously. I was turning left across two lanes of on-coming traffic and a car smoked the passenger side of my car and spun me around so I was facing in the other direction. It was scary! My glasses flew off my face and my Starbucks coffee seemed to explode out of its cup. Everything seemed to slow down and speed up at the same time. My car stopped and I put my car in park and tried to find my glasses even though I couldn’t see.

A witness and the driver of the car that hit me, rapped on my window to make sure I was okay, but I was still fumbling around trying to turn on my hazard lights and find my glasses. I thought my glasses had flown off onto the ground by my feet, but, surprisingly and miraculously, they landed right on top of my purse safe and sound. Phew! I put my glasses on and proceeded to talk to the other driver and then wait for a cop to show up. In total, I was probably standing outside in the pouring rain for about an hour. It was anything, but wonderful.

But then God reminded me that he had been watching over me the whole time.

The moment I realized I got into an accident, I called my parents. And then I remembered that I was supposed to be at work, so I called my boss who walked outside to wait with me until the police showed up. My boss, who is also a dear friend of mine, ended up texting my friend Cassandra and asking her to pray for me. Here’s the funny thing: Last night Cassandra had felt compelled to pray for me, which she did. And then this morning she felt like she needed to pray for me again. Cassandra was covering me in her prayers and she had no idea that I was going to get into an accident!

Not only that, but I called the insurance company to make my claim and statement about the accident. After I made my statement, the man I was talking to read it back to me so that I could make sure that it was all correct. In that moment, I realized that this accident could have gone horribly wrong. Sure, two cars were damaged, but everyone in the situation was totally fine! And thank God that I didn’t have any passengers in my car! 10 minutes before this, I had my step-dad in my car, but I dropped him off at the mechanics. Also, my car didn’t spin out and hit someone else.

God’s hand was all over this situation. He sent his angels to protect me and everyone in that situation and I am blown away by his good graces. I even went to work afterwards!

One thing I’m worried about is that the insurance company will decide that I’m the one who is to blame for the accident and that means that I will have to hand over a lot of money, which I can’t afford right now. Honestly, though, if God can protect me physically, he can protect my finances. No matter what, God has proven that he will take care of me, so I’m trying not to worry about it. Here’s hoping that tomorrow will be uneventful!

A photography blog post seems incomplete without a picture, so...here's another photo from my shoot with Shanna. See more on my facebook page.

About Michaela

Hello! My name is Michaela and welcome to my piece of cyberspace. I am a passionate care aid/respite worker primarily for seniors. I love my work and I find it quite fulfilling. I am also very interested in holistic approaches to health and wellness. When I'm not working or blogging, I'm usually reading, researching, spending time with my boyfriend and friends, hiking, or cuddling with my dogs.
This entry was posted in God & Spirituality, Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

