Art

I like to consider myself an artist. Is that too bold? I’m not sure. But, because I’m a nerd, I looked up the word “artist” in dictionary.com and it said, “Artist [ahr-tist] – noun…a person who is expert at trickery or deceit”.

What? I know!

And I’m partly joking. (“Partly” because it did actually say that, but it was the second last definition.) Actually (and no surprise here), dictionary.com describes an artist as someone who engages in the arts. And I consider myself one of those people. I took art in grade 8 and I fell in love it. I loved being creative. I loved pouring my heart and mind into whatever I was creating. The problem was that I wasn’t very good at it. I think that my art teacher was very gracious in giving me straight A’s. All through highschool I dabbled in art. I took up watercolour painting for a while and then decided to stick with acrylic painting. I actually think that I’m a pretty decent abstract painter. (I can’t paint anything close to realistic.)

But then I found photography. Photography has always been there and it has always been a hobby of mine, but it buried itself deep inside my heart about two years ago. I fell in love with photography. And I’m realizing more and more that photography is my art. Photography is how I express myself. While I really wish that I painted more (because I dropped that hobby basically when photography stepped onto the scene), photography makes my heart sing. It brings me closer to God and it’s something that I can say, “Yep. This is mine. This is my thing, my passion, my art, my business.”

Of course, there are many ridiculous (or “ridunkadunk”, as my co-worker says) photographers out there. I am just a baby in this business. I am completely in awe by the artists I see around me. For example, there has been a lot of buzz about Jeremy Cowart on facebook and twitter. Recently, he was in Haiti and, in between professional shoots, he shot pictures with his iphone. Crazy, huh? And the photos are magnificent! The one below is my favourite. For more, click here.

Jill Devries is another photographer that I love. I’m so in love with her work…I could die! Sometimes I feel like that because her photography just steals the wind out of my lungs. It’s simply breathtaking. This is my favourite from her. To see more from this shoot, click here.

There are a ton of other photographers that I love and admire. Look at my facebook profile and you will see! I am a fan of a lot of photographers! I am a proud supporter of the arts and anyone who pursues a career in artistry.

Here are some recent photos that I took with Shanna Elizabeth Photography. This shoot brought out my artsy side. Enjoy! For more photos, go check out my facebook page. Have a lovely day!

Quick note: Don’t forget that Valentine’s Day is coming up! Tell all your single, dating or married friends to book a session with me! A mini-session (30-45min) is $60 & a full session (1-1.5hrs) is $75. Book with me fast because my prices are changing after February! Keep in mind that I will give you a special deal if you refer me to your friends and they book with me.

About Michaela

Hello! My name is Michaela and welcome to my piece of cyberspace. I am a passionate care aid/respite worker primarily for seniors. I love my work and I find it quite fulfilling. I am also very interested in holistic approaches to health and wellness. When I'm not working or blogging, I'm usually reading, researching, spending time with my boyfriend and friends, hiking, or cuddling with my dogs.
This entry was posted in Individual Portraits, Life, Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Art

  1. Shanna says:

    Great post, Michaela! I loved reading it! =)

  2. Jaclyn Rae says:

    I’m so glad I found your blog today! This post is fabulous :)

Leave a Reply

