Resolutions

Happy New Year! We are two days into 2011 and I am pumped and feeling blessed. I’ve heard the question, “What is your New Year’s resolution?” over and over again. I’m not a resolution-making type of person. A lot of people make resolutions that are unattainable, like working out everyday or never eating chocolate until the next year. In years past, I never kept my resolutions and so I stopped making them. But this year, I felt compelled to make a few and I wanted to share them with you.

1) Go to church more consistently. In 2010, there was a major drop-off in my church attendance. I started doing photo shoots on Sundays and, because I was working more, Sunday also became my sleep-in day. Skipping church now and again is fine, but it can turn into a habit of just not going, a habit I intend to break.

2) Attend a young adults life group. This will be a difficult one. I’m naturally shy and introverted, which is why I’ve postponed attending a life group for sometime, but it can be done! I shall overcome my introversion!

3) Become more family oriented. I’m also not naturally family oriented. The biggest problem is that, being an introvert, I like being alone or spending one-on-one time with people. I come from quite a large family, so I typically just avoid them. I adore my family, but when they all come over for dinner, I feel overwhelmed. But, this year, I want to spend more time with them and work on my relationships with them.

4) Go on more adventures. I want to go on more adventures. In 2010, I went on a few adventures, but not near enough. I want to go to Vancouver more. I want to take a trip to Victoria or go on a road trip. I’m not planning on travelling across the world, but I want to go on little adventures here and there.

5) Work on my business, which includes, but is not limited to, working on a website, logo, buying new gear and updating my editing systems.

I am very excited for 2011. God has great things in store for me and I am pumped to fulfill my potential in Christ more than I ever have before. I think this year will have new challenges and obstacles to leap over, but I have a feeling it’s going to be epic.

What about you? What are some of your resolutions for 2011?

A teaser from my shoot with Angela.

About Michaela

Hello! My name is Michaela and welcome to my piece of cyberspace. I am a passionate care aid/respite worker primarily for seniors. I love my work and I find it quite fulfilling. I am also very interested in holistic approaches to health and wellness. When I'm not working or blogging, I'm usually reading, researching, spending time with my boyfriend and friends, hiking, or cuddling with my dogs.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends, God & Spirituality, Individual Portraits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Resolutions

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Resolutions | Michaela Putra Photography -- Topsy.com

  2. Cassandra says:

    Great post, Michaela!

    One of my resolutions is to be as intentional with myself as I am with others. I need to take a little more time to focus on me sometimes, you know?

  3. Pingback: KO’d By Fear | Michaela Putra Photography

Leave a Reply

