My Story

I have many passions. There are many things that excite me, give me butterflies in my belly or make my head swim with visions of awesomeness. When I am excited, I giggle with delight and clap my hands together. I also jump up and down or laugh or cry depending on the degree of excitement. Seriously, just ask my friends. When I’m pumped about something, they know!

One thing that puts a fire in my belly is photography. I love it. I always have. My story with photography is a fairly classic one. My dad always had a camera and, ever since I was a wee one, I would snap pictures of anything and anyone, which is quite expensive back when we only had film. But my dad was gracious, he always let me take pictures.

I remember when my dad first got a point-and-shoot digital camera. I was probably 13 years old at the time and I remember thinking something along the lines of “Ooooh…shiny!” I was fascinated by this little thing called a “digital camera”. Because my dad no longer needed his film camera, he passed it off to me. I snapped away with my camera, not caring that I was going to lose all my babysitting money to printing these photos.

After that, my dad kept upgrading and I kept inheriting his old cameras. I kept learning and growing, but I never thought about being a photographer. I loved it as a hobby, but never thought about really pursuing it. Well, not until my dad made the switch to a DSLR camera. (You know, those bad boys that you see professional photographers shooting with. I think I literally drooled when I saw it.) And I received my dad’s point-and-shoot Panasonic camera, which had similar features that a DSLR might have.

With my newest camera, I wanted to try my hand at a photoshoot, so I called up a couple of friends and we took some photos together. I had no idea what I was doing, but it was so much fun! The real turning point is when I did a photoshoot with my sister-in-law, Carissa. I remember taking pictures of her and being so proud that I could capture how remarkable, how stunning and spectacular she is with my wee little camera. I remember thinking, “I love showing people that they are so beautiful inside and out. I love that I can help someone see that they are an incredible masterpiece.”

My beautiful sister-in-law, Carissa. This is from a shoot I did in September to help out a local charity.


And that’s really where it began. A year ago, I got my own Canon DSLR camera, which I adore. (I named it “Arty”. Yup, I name things.) I did my first professional photoshoot last April and, ever since then, I’ve been doing photoshoots and getting connected with spectacular photographers that I love. I have business cards. I’ve done a photography showcase. I have a Facebook page. I now have a blog and I have a client base that is slowly growing. Truth be told, this process has been a slow one, but I’m totally fine with that. Changes and growth never seem to happen quickly for me.

So that is my journey thus far. Care to walk with me a little longer? I could always use the company.

While my favourite season is Summer and I ache for it to return to me the moment it leaves, Autumn makes my heart flutter. I think it's the crinkly leaves, the changing colours, the beauty of life turning to ash only to be reborn in Spring, kind of like a pheonix. It's a poetic time of year, I think. And I always enjoy trying to capture it with my camera.

About Michaela

Hello! My name is Michaela and welcome to my piece of cyberspace. I am a passionate care aid/respite worker primarily for seniors. I love my work and I find it quite fulfilling. I am also very interested in holistic approaches to health and wellness. When I'm not working or blogging, I'm usually reading, researching, spending time with my boyfriend and friends, hiking, or cuddling with my dogs.
This entry was posted in Family & Friends, Life, Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

